FIFA World Cup 2022 schedule

The FIFA World Cup is an international soccer competition played by the men’s national soccer teams. The World Cup takes place every four years.

2022 is hosted by Qatar, which is located in the Persian Gulf near Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Bahrain. Over 800,000 tickets to the games have been sold so far.

The game kicks off on Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022 with a matchup between Qatar and Ecuador at 11 AM ET on FOX.

Fox purchased the World Cup broadcasting rights for $400 million dollars.

FIFA World Cup (photo by George Zlatsky)

The tournament’s final phase is often called the World Cup Finals. The current format of the Finals involves 32 national teams competing at venues within the host nation.

There are four tournament rounds, but first, each group plays in a round-robin. The two squads with the most points move on to the round of 16.

From there it is like any other sports tourney where it goes from 16 to eight (quarterfinals), to four (semifinals), and then to the last two teams in the tourney finals.

The next FIFA World Cup will be in 2026.

What:          FIFA World Cup

When:         November 20 – December 18, 2022

Where:        Qatar


Buy tix

FIFA packages


FIFA World Cup Pele

Leave a ReplyCancel reply